Mauritius Trade Agreements

12 Dec

Mauritius benefits from the Generalized Preference System (GSP) offered by Japan, Norway, Switzerland, the United States and the Customs Union of Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia. Mauritius is a member of the Common Market Free Trade Agreement for South and East Africa (COMESA) and the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The Oceans Commission of India (IOC) brings together Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Reunion and Seychelles to promote diplomatic, economic and trade relations between the islands. Currently, only products traded between Mauritius and Madagascar in accordance with the IOC`s rules of origin are granted duty-free access. Mauritius has a free trade agreement with Turkey and a preferential agreement with Pakistan. Mauritius is also eligible for trade preferences with the European Union under the Interim Economic Partnership Agreement. The United States and Mauritius signed a Framework Agreement on Trade and Investment (TIFA) in September 2006. It will be a formal mechanism to resolve bilateral trade issues and strengthen and expand trade and investment relations between the two countries. The free trade agreement between Turkey and Mauritius essentially provides for the abolition of tariffs on imports and exports of industrial products, as well as quantitative restrictions and measures of equivalent effect, the exchange of concessions on agricultural products, technical barriers to trade, health and pythosanitarian measures, internal taxes, dumping, safeguards , payments, rules of origin and intellectual property rights. Mauritius is entitled to commercial benefits under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), which provides duty-free and quota-free access to the U.S.

market for more than 6,000 eligible products from sub-Saharan Africa. For more information about AGOA, contact us online. The export of clothing from Mauritius to the United States from fabrics imported from any country is exempt from customs duties under the AGOA Third Country Fabric Commission. In 2015, the United States extended AGOA until September 30, 2025. In July 2020, the World Bank classified Mauritius as a high-income country, but added that the economic impact of the Covid 19 pandemic would likely degrade Mauritius` rating in July 2021. High income status triggers AGOA graduation after a two-year grace period. In March 2018, Mauritius signed the agreement establishing the Continental Free Trade Agreement, which came into force in May 2019. The Mauritian government and the People`s Republic of China concluded negotiations for a free trade agreement in September 2018.

Comments are closed.